Reviews

Reviews

  • 'A LETTER HOME'

    Saturday 11 October 2014

    7:30PM

    What a huge success Saturday’s Concert was. We have received so many comments from people, many there for the first time, who were amazed at the quality of the performance and its originality.

    The Foyer was looking spectacular with the new layout and lighting. We were sorry to miss the beginning of the lecture but found what we heard, to be very interesting as was the exhibition up stairs.

    It was so welcoming to arrive to the strains of the Superstrings, to then listen to the wealth of talent from the West Wiltshire Youth Orchestra, the St Laurence School & Sam Glazer and the Wiltshire Youth Jazz Orchestra. It was also a coup to include the home grown Tippett Ensemble. Please convey my thanks and congratulations to all the young musicians involved. Also, many thanks are due to the staff involved in serving at my reception.

    All in all a memorable evening and my warm thanks and congratulations for making it happen.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • BUSCH ENSEMBLE

    Friday 17 October 2014

    7:30PM

    The Busch Ensemble were simply stunning - the Mendelssohn really caught fire. The pianist was amazing to watch perform.

    My friends and I would love it if the Busch ensemble were to come back and become regular performers like the Doric String Quartert.

    What a wonderful programme!

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • SON YAMBU - THE SOUL OF CUBA

    Saturday 18 October 2014

    7:30PM

    A wonderful evening with the magical sounds of Son Yambu who had people up & dancing on the stage!

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 3

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • SON YAMBU - THE SOUL OF CUBA

    Saturday 18 October 2014

    7:30PM

    we attended this concert tonight with 2 other friends. the music was much too loud and really unpleasantly so. I spent the entire evening with my fingers stuffed into my ears! Horrible. groups should not be allowed to amplify so loudly. this is not necessary in such a small venue with good acoustics. we certainly will not come to any more such events. all people around us thought the same.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 3

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • SAM SWEENEY'S FIDDLE: MADE IN THE GREAT WAR

    Sunday 28 September 2014

    7:30PM

    The best things I have seen for a very long time. A very moving performance and I left with tears in my eyes.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • WILTSHIRE & SWINDON YOUTH ORCHESTRA

    Friday 29 August 2014

    7:30PM

    I have just returned from the concert with the WSYO and Superstrings playing together. It was sensational and inspirational. I guarantee you will be thrilled so don’t miss the second performance in Salisbury.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • ROYAL BALLET LIVE THE WINTER'S TALE

    Monday 28 April 2014

    7:15PM

    A stunning show. Wonderful to have the chance to watch this locally.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • ROYAL BALLET LIVE THE WINTER'S TALE

    Monday 28 April 2014

    7:15PM

    A really refreshing performance - very imaginative. It will go down in history. A pleasure to watch.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • MARK LOCKHEART SEPTET

    Saturday 26 April 2014

    7:30PM

    The chance to catch a live performance at the Wiltshire Music Centre was, then, one not be missed, a decision shared by the good-sized size audience on the night. The WMC's new sound system and investment in managing the lively acoustic of the hall has really paid off with excellent balance and presence everywhere in the hall. It makes a fine hall even better, particularly benefitting medium to small groups with percussion such as on this night.

    Read more: http://listomaniabath.com/reviews/ellington-in-anticipation-at-wil/

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • SCHUBERT ENSEMBLE

    Friday 21 March 2014

    7:30PM

    On Friday evening I enjoyed your stunning concert in the Wiltshire Music Centre. I was one of a large audience who were delighted with your performances of Faure, David Matthews, and Schumann. Your experience and specialism showed through in every note, and it was like hearing a single organism perform throughout. Dynamics, tempo and intonation were absolutely unanimous, and your sound and balance superb in this great venue. The icing on the cake was your short encore by Max Jaffa, played with great and very appropriate gypsy dash and style. A marvellous evening's music – thank you all so much for the performances and your pre-concert talk session.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5