Reviews

Reviews

  • WELSH SINFONIA

    Friday 05 February 2016

    7:30PM

    I have no words to describe feelings but it was a wonderful and uplifting evening!! An brought back very special memories of our Wedding 33 Years ago in Spain as Vivaldi's Spring was played walking down the isle.....! Absolutely brilliant!! Thanks to all the orchestra and all of you at the Centre.!!

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • RAPHAEL WALLFISCH CELLO / JOHN YORK PIANO

    Saturday 23 January 2016

    7:30PM

    It wasn’t just the concert that made the evening, it was also the pre-concert talk – the one complementing the other. John York spoke and his enthusiasm and knowledge of music was tangible and infectious. For me, the defining moment was Raphael Wallfisch playing the opening bars of the sonata by Rebecca Clarke (1886 – 1979) a distinguished viola player. The very first bite of his bow on the string and the sonority of his instrument said it all for me. We were in for a wonderful experience. And throughout the concert I found the combination of player and instrument a constant source of wonder.

    The talk illuminated some fascinating things; the subtleties of a composer’s key selection and their different ‘spiritual’ (his words) qualities, and the way composers often chose to refashion or transpose earlier works onto different instruments. An example of this was Rebecca Clarke’s sonata of 1919 which she wrote for cello from her sonata for viola, and piano. Last in the programme, this was passionate and ravishingly beautiful, full of the new harmonies and ideas from Debussy, Ravel, Stravinsky and others. This piece moved me like no other.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • BRADFORD ROOTS MUSIC FESTIVAL 2016

    Sunday 17 January 2016

    11:00AM

    Superb week-end of music, dance, poetry, food, drink. The diversity of styles and genres was truly wonderful. Great value for money, and all in a good cause too. Hope to be back again next year!

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • BRADFORD ROOTS MUSIC FESTIVAL 2016

    Sunday 17 January 2016

    11:00AM

    What a great vibe - the main stage, Keith Christmas and the grand finale were particularly profound for me - rock it Bradford! X

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • A NEW YEAR'S DAY VIENNESE SPECTACULAR

    Friday 01 January 2016

    7:30PM

    Oh what a joyous occasion. The sheer musical exuberance of young people, marvellously directed by Timothy Redmond, in the buoyancy of Strauss dances, enormously enjoyed by both orchestra and audience. There was also a Mozart violin concerto where the performer, David Adams, led the orchestra himself. And herein lay an impressive empathy between him and that youthful orchestra; their ensemble playing was impeccable, with minimal direction. Remarkable for such young people.

    My mind turns to a few of the players. One of the three viola players, a scraggly mop of hair, round spectacles and a look on his young face of absolute and total concentration as if he was exploring the texture of every single note. And the youthful horn player at the rear of the horn section who suddenly appeared as a brilliant bass drummer for the fast moving ‘Thunder and Lightning Polka’, providing the encore. Did you see the glee on his face afterwards? Impressive too was the constant attention given by the leading violin to what was going on around her – that look on a face such as we’ve so often seen amongst small professional ensembles. A wonderful and inspiring evening.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • WHERE HAS RUDOLPH'S RED NOSE GONE?

    Sunday 13 December 2015

    3:00PM

    I was really disappointed by this. The story line was rudimentary, didn't engage and didn't excite. It lacked the visual support necessary for young children. The programme advertised excerpts from several pieces of classical music but they must have been very short. I knew one of these pieces and listened for it but I didn't hear it. My 8 year old grandson found the performance "long" and I can only agree.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 1

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • CORDELIA WILLIAMS PIANO

    Saturday 05 December 2015

    7:30PM

    We’ve had three consecutive Saturdays where great things to watch have been accompanied by great music – or vice versa. Dancers and Evelyn Glennie (yes, music in her dazzling performance as percussionist) a film about Joan of Arc with the Orlando Consort singing, then on 5th December, Cordelia Williams playing most of Messaien’s ‘Vingt Regards sur L’Enfant Jésus’ with huge projections of artwork by Sophie Hacker inspired by the same. After each movement Michael Symmons Roberts read poetry, also inspired by the music.

    It’s been such an interesting set of such different yet related experiences, each setting up new patterns of personal response. These pairing brought their own unique qualities; each with sound and vision enriching each other; each presenting something with overtones broader than we usually expect in the audience.

    The artistry of Cordelia Williams has to be mentioned. Inspired and inspirational. An astonishing feast of wonder and beauty. Sounds that ranged from the caressingly beautiful to powerful affirmation of Messaien’s deep Catholic faith with glances, almost inevitably, towards his Turangalila Symphony. This was the final evening of Miss Williams’s year’s great touring project ‘Between Heaven and the Clouds’, with these two artists.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 4.5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • CORDELIA WILLIAMS PIANO

    Saturday 05 December 2015

    7:30PM

    A very enjoyable evening with brilliant piano playing by Cordelia. It was an interesting and brave experiment to mix this with commissioned poetry and paintings. I'm not sure this completely worked. The poetry was difficult to follow, perhaps because, since the Messiaen pieces were not played in order, the poems were not read in order. Michael Roberts' portrayal of Paris during the occupation was thus rather muddled. Also it was hard to see how the paintings related to the music. It didn't help for the projection to move about each painting showing very detailed brushstrokes; better to keep the whole paintings still and visible I felt. Also, as art, the paintings seemed rather flat and lacking in texture. However, the venture was well worth witnessing and it was a most enjoyable event to attend. I hope the Music Centre will support similar performances in the future.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 4.5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • ORLANDO CONSORT LA PASSION DE JEANNE D'ARC (1928)

    Saturday 28 November 2015

    7:30PM

    I had already seen this film in France without musical accompaniment. I fell in love with it on this first viewing but was amazed by how much this masterpiece was enhanced by the Orlando Concert's accompaniment of music from the early 15th century. I take my hat off to them not only because they sang so beautifully for 100 minutes without an interval but also for their modesty in taking second place to the film. However, I found that, strangely, the music penetrated one's consciousness even more this way, than if one had been able to give it one's full attention, which inevitably was concentrated on the film. Thank you for an unforgettable experience.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • WEST WILTSHIRE YOUNG MUSICIANS CONCERT

    Saturday 13 June 2015

    6:30PM

    Best Concert EVer

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5