Reviews

Reviews

  • ORCHESTRA OF THE AGE OF ENLIGHTENMENT

    Saturday 22 November 2014

    7:30PM

    The OAE and Tognetti were completely, utterly, truly, madly, deeply splendid - some really great musical chemistry going on! It was utterly fascinating to hear those musicians deliver such a broad-ranging programme, with not a jot less musical insight, stylistic sympathy and polish than they dependably bring to their more regular repertoire. I was interested that they managed to span relatively young Haydn to latish Elgar - over 150 years - without changing instruments, only bows.

    As ever, I felt their commitment and enjoyment communicated. It was all very well done, in impeccable taste and completely convincing. (That said, even given the quality of the OAE's playing, I doubt there are many acoustics where the Mahler would work with only 22 strings (+ harp) as well as it did at the Wiltshire Music Centre!) We are so blessed to have the OAE in residence, and I get the feeling that they love performing in that warmly generous acoustic space to such appreciative capacity crowds.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • ORCHESTRA OF THE AGE OF ENLIGHTENMENT

    Saturday 22 November 2014

    7:30PM

    What an amazing concert. The visit of the OAE is always special but guest director Richard Tognetti seemed to get the best out of a solely string orchestra. There was also an unexpected and memorable encore - the ‘Adagietto’ from Mahler’s 5th symphony!

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • ORCHESTRA OF THE AGE OF ENLIGHTENMENT

    Saturday 22 November 2014

    7:30PM

    The best concert I have seen at Wiltshire Music Centre!

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • SWINGING AT THE COTTON CLUB

    Friday 21 November 2014

    7:30PM

    Fabulous evening.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • PLAY JAZZ WEEKEND

    Saturday 24 May 2014

    10:00AM

    Dedicated and professional musicians as teachers is a real treat. Personally I didn't do what I expected to but I learned so much else. I will be back.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • ALEXANDRA DARIESCU PIANO

    Tuesday 21 October 2014

    1:00PM

    I feel I must tell you how much my wife and I enjoyed the short recital by Alexandra Dariescu. Not only a great pianist but also with outstanding stage presence. She spoke to the audience with clear and interesting introductions to each piece that she played. We also like the idea of lunchtime concerts and hope these will continue especially as they support young musicians.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • ENGLISH TOURING OPERA

    Sunday 26 October 2014

    7:30PM

    What a wonderful venue Wiltshire Music Centre is. Lovely concert hall and everybody gets a warm welcome from the friendly FOH staff.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • 'A LETTER HOME'

    Saturday 11 October 2014

    7:30PM

    What a huge success Saturday’s Concert was. We have received so many comments from people, many there for the first time, who were amazed at the quality of the performance and its originality.

    The Foyer was looking spectacular with the new layout and lighting. We were sorry to miss the beginning of the lecture but found what we heard, to be very interesting as was the exhibition up stairs.

    It was so welcoming to arrive to the strains of the Superstrings, to then listen to the wealth of talent from the West Wiltshire Youth Orchestra, the St Laurence School & Sam Glazer and the Wiltshire Youth Jazz Orchestra. It was also a coup to include the home grown Tippett Ensemble. Please convey my thanks and congratulations to all the young musicians involved. Also, many thanks are due to the staff involved in serving at my reception.

    All in all a memorable evening and my warm thanks and congratulations for making it happen.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • BUSCH ENSEMBLE

    Friday 17 October 2014

    7:30PM

    The Busch Ensemble were simply stunning - the Mendelssohn really caught fire. The pianist was amazing to watch perform.

    My friends and I would love it if the Busch ensemble were to come back and become regular performers like the Doric String Quartert.

    What a wonderful programme!

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • SON YAMBU - THE SOUL OF CUBA

    Saturday 18 October 2014

    7:30PM

    A wonderful evening with the magical sounds of Son Yambu who had people up & dancing on the stage!

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 3

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5