Reviews

Reviews

  • JEREMY DENK PIANO

    Friday 23 September 2016

    7:30PM

    Just how many fingers does he have??????

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • WEST OF ENGLAND YOUTH ORCHESTRA / MATTHEW TRUSLER VIOLIN

    Friday 26 August 2016

    7:30PM

    Another appearance of this splendid orchestra in an ambitious programme, performing to a deservedly full house and conducted by Timothy Redmond. It was a larger orchestra than last time with 82 on the stage and a noticeable increase in the number of viola players providing a more comfortable balance in the string section – and four double basses. I found the sheer volume of sound in the densely orchestrated first piece – Rachmaninov’s ‘The Isle of the Dead’ – a bit difficult to cope with, but thought the quality of performance by individual sections of the orchestra in Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No.1 outstanding. I hope those young people really enjoyed playing in it with the closeness and utter virtuosity of Matthew Trusler.

    Mahler Symphony No.1 occupied the second half of the concert and once again one could marvel at the ease with which the individual sections of the orchestra, one after the other, created a totally coherent flow of music. A melody appears and is then swept away as another breaks the surface. The tensions were seamless and wonderfully engaging. And eight horns, all standing up in the closing moments of the symphony. Thrilling.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • WEST OF ENGLAND YOUTH ORCHESTRA / MATTHEW TRUSLER VIOLIN

    Friday 26 August 2016

    7:30PM

    A wonderful evening, especially the Mahler symphony. I happily swap the technical perfection of a professional orchestra such as the LSO for the enthusiasm and commitment of the WEYO. Some stars of the future in WEYO's ranks? Beautiful first trumpet, lovely 'cello section; we just felt sorry for the solo double-bassist in Mahler, who's probably had better evenings?

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • THE AMADEUS ORCHESTRA

    Thursday 21 July 2016

    7:30PM

    An excellent gig. Great playing and a good programme. It was lovely to hear a full orchestra too. To quote a neighbour in the audience "They can come again!"
    It might have been nice to have had a pre-concert talk about the Amadeus Orchestra organisation though.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 4

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • ALEXANDER PANFILOV PIANO

    Wednesday 27 April 2016

    1:00PM

    Thank you for such an excellent concert performance. The Mussorgsky was especially brilliant.... I found it sad that despite the incredibly low ticket price (which was most welcome for someone on a very limited income by the way) the hall wasn't full to bursting. With school/s in such close proximity - surely they could have filled those seats. More lunchtime events please.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 4.5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • ALEXANDER PANFILOV PIANO

    Wednesday 27 April 2016

    1:00PM

    I have just been lucky enough to attend two fantastic concerts at the Wiltshire Music Centre. One was given by the Britten Sinfonia on April 23rd and featured Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 27, beautifully played by the talented Mr Benjamin Grosvenor and equally beautifully executed by the orchestra - BUT the Bartok quartet movement before it and Richard Strauss’s Metamorphosen after it were performed with such sustained passion, such gusto and so perfectly as to make them unforgettable.
    Another unforgettable experience was the one I had today at a lunchtime concert at the Centre where Alexander Panfilov played Debussy and then Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition. He seemed to feel the latter in his Russian bones and transported us there with him. We applauded with enthusiastic bravos and got an encore but the Mussorgsky will, I suspect, continue its vibrations in many of us who will cherish its memory. Quite simply a superb performance! Thank you WMC.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 4.5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • COURTNEY PINE / ZOE RAHMAN

    Friday 08 April 2016

    7:30PM

    Bass clarinet – the like of which I’d never seen or heard before – and piano. Courtney first on the stage, all in black, ravishing us with an extended rapid and prolonged flurry of notes, all coalescing to give a sparkling wash of continuous sound. Bass notes so deep, and some so high you wondered how. And sometimes he gave us short tufted notes as though plucking at reeds somewhere. At other times it seemed he was adding a speaking voice through the mouthpiece giving rise to strange double utterances. Then there was Zoe at the piano adding her own particular colours to the extraordinary palette displayed by Courtney.

    It was a varied programme full of extemporisation and long opportunities for Zoe to capture our attention with her own brilliance. She sat so still and upright, totally belying the complexity of her playing. Long golden hair right down to the level of the piano stool. Courtney spoke to us sometimes and finally said how conscious they were of our response to their music, feeding energy back to them, making it a rare and special event for them to be playing at the WMC.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • WEST OF ENGLAND YOUTH ORCHESTRA / MATTHEW SHARP CELLO

    Friday 01 April 2016

    7:30PM

    Fantastic Gig, I don't think I've heard the Orchestra play better. The Rossi piece was very moving and illustrated the film well and the Dvorak stunning.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • EMPATHY

    Sunday 20 March 2016

    7:30PM

    I have to say I’m never quite sure what contemporary dance does for me. But this hour-long performance was quite out of the ordinary; five athletic dancers working within a provocative and mesmerising demonstration of the capabilities of laser imaging. With just two ceiling projectors diagonally positioned in relation to the stage, and a slight man-made fog, we saw the most amazing constructions – an infinite variety of shifting lines drawn on the stage and shimmering diagonal curtains. Around the constantly changing scenes created by the lasers the dancers were exploring and responding to almost undefinable notions of empathy; how it arises between individuals or, in the setting of a stage performance, between performers and audience. All this was to a substantial background of synthesised sound and live cello. Not a big audience but a highly appreciative one – I wonder how much it stretched their private comfort zones. A risk worth taking at the WMC to nudge us beyond familiar expectations.

    The complexities of empathy and risk-taking in a world of dissolving barriers were the theme of the elegant and insightful preconcert talk given by the Initiator and Choreographer, Adrienne Hart.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • TROWBRIDGE SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA

    Saturday 19 March 2016

    7:30PM

    It's always a pleasure to see committed amateur players, especially in a piece like Sibelius's 2nd, where we can all enjoy a good 'wallow' in the luscious sound. Hats off to the brass, the solo oboe player and the solo 'cellist.
    The soloists in the Mozart piece, which was new to me, were first rate and evidently play well together.
    The Mendelssohn overture was a good choice: if you have a good brass section there for the Sibelius, why not use it for more!

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 4

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5