Reviews

Reviews

  • BRODSKY QUARTET

    Friday 12 December 2014

    7:30PM

    Fantastic concert – intimate, exciting, moving, inspiring – Wiltshire Music Centre at its very best. Full-on fully deserved applause from a full house.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • PETE LOCKETT DRUMS AROUND THE WORLD

    Saturday 29 November 2014

    7:30PM

    Pete Lockett was brilliant. The instruments made out of wine bottle tops and beer bottle tops were especially novel! At least I think that's what he said they were!!

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • SWINGING AT THE COTTON CLUB

    Friday 21 November 2014

    7:30PM

    Fantastic entertainment -
    It was a lovely touch that the cast came down to say goodbye.
    Sincere thanks to all concerned.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • ORCHESTRA OF THE AGE OF ENLIGHTENMENT

    Saturday 22 November 2014

    7:30PM

    The OAE and Tognetti were completely, utterly, truly, madly, deeply splendid - some really great musical chemistry going on! It was utterly fascinating to hear those musicians deliver such a broad-ranging programme, with not a jot less musical insight, stylistic sympathy and polish than they dependably bring to their more regular repertoire. I was interested that they managed to span relatively young Haydn to latish Elgar - over 150 years - without changing instruments, only bows.

    As ever, I felt their commitment and enjoyment communicated. It was all very well done, in impeccable taste and completely convincing. (That said, even given the quality of the OAE's playing, I doubt there are many acoustics where the Mahler would work with only 22 strings (+ harp) as well as it did at the Wiltshire Music Centre!) We are so blessed to have the OAE in residence, and I get the feeling that they love performing in that warmly generous acoustic space to such appreciative capacity crowds.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • ORCHESTRA OF THE AGE OF ENLIGHTENMENT

    Saturday 22 November 2014

    7:30PM

    What an amazing concert. The visit of the OAE is always special but guest director Richard Tognetti seemed to get the best out of a solely string orchestra. There was also an unexpected and memorable encore - the ‘Adagietto’ from Mahler’s 5th symphony!

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • ORCHESTRA OF THE AGE OF ENLIGHTENMENT

    Saturday 22 November 2014

    7:30PM

    The best concert I have seen at Wiltshire Music Centre!

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • SWINGING AT THE COTTON CLUB

    Friday 21 November 2014

    7:30PM

    Fabulous evening.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • PLAY JAZZ WEEKEND

    Saturday 24 May 2014

    10:00AM

    Dedicated and professional musicians as teachers is a real treat. Personally I didn't do what I expected to but I learned so much else. I will be back.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • ALEXANDRA DARIESCU PIANO

    Tuesday 21 October 2014

    1:00PM

    I feel I must tell you how much my wife and I enjoyed the short recital by Alexandra Dariescu. Not only a great pianist but also with outstanding stage presence. She spoke to the audience with clear and interesting introductions to each piece that she played. We also like the idea of lunchtime concerts and hope these will continue especially as they support young musicians.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • ENGLISH TOURING OPERA

    Sunday 26 October 2014

    7:30PM

    What a wonderful venue Wiltshire Music Centre is. Lovely concert hall and everybody gets a warm welcome from the friendly FOH staff.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5