Reviews

Reviews

  • SCHUBERT ENSEMBLE

    Friday 21 March 2014

    7:30PM

    On Friday evening I enjoyed your stunning concert in the Wiltshire Music Centre. I was one of a large audience who were delighted with your performances of Faure, David Matthews, and Schumann. Your experience and specialism showed through in every note, and it was like hearing a single organism perform throughout. Dynamics, tempo and intonation were absolutely unanimous, and your sound and balance superb in this great venue. The icing on the cake was your short encore by Max Jaffa, played with great and very appropriate gypsy dash and style. A marvellous evening's music – thank you all so much for the performances and your pre-concert talk session.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • MCGOLDRICK / MCCUSKER / DOYLE

    Friday 28 February 2014

    7:30PM

    We enjoyed this show very much indeed. We know the artists through their performances in various events at Celtic Connections (including the Transatlantic Sessions) and travelled some way to see them. Last night's show was a highly-polished event, show-casing each individual's talents and featuring opportunities for the audience to learn more about them, on stage and at the interval. They are really jelling as a trio and their choices of music are excellent. Congratulations to the Centre for bringing this superb trio to Wiltshire. We hope they will soon be appearing here again.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • ROYAL BALLET LIVE GISELLE

    Monday 27 January 2014

    7:15PM

    Thank you Wiltshire Music Centre, for showing an unforgettable performance of Giselle from the Royal Ballet. Words almost fail me (not a common occurrence!) to describe the luminescence and sheer joy of Natalia Osipova & Carlos Acosta's performances... And what a corps de ballet! Quite wonderful and a full full house to boot! Great Monday evening - thank you!

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • PETER KIRK / STEVEN HOLLAS

    Sunday 19 January 2014

    3:00PM

    Unforgettable afternoon at the debut of an exciting and engaging young singer with die Winterreise. It has been going round my head ever since. And to cap it all we were treated to a post performance talk which illuminated Peter and Steven's thoughts on the work and their creative process.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • PETER KIRK / STEVEN HOLLAS

    Sunday 19 January 2014

    3:00PM

    A highly rewarding way of spending a January Sunday afternoon – hearing Winterreise for the first time at WMC. A very strong turn-out heard Peter Kirk on top form – and in perfect harmony with Stephen Hollas on piano. Peter is about the same age that Schubert was when he wrote Winterreise. But whereas Schubert was near to the end of his short life, Peter is flourishing as what one critic has called a "gorgeous young lyric tenor". An excellent advertisement for WMC's Young Artist Fund.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • VIENNA PIANO TRIO

    Friday 17 January 2014

    7:30PM

    What passionate musicians. Such a wonder to watch. The Beethoven was superb.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • STAN AND MABEL FAMILY CONCERT

    Sunday 01 December 2013

    3:00PM

    We loved the concert, thank you for a great performance. The only thing that made me wonder was: shouldn't be 'La Skala Magnifica'? (as this is the female of magnifico and La Skala is female)

    All the best for the rest of your shows!

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 4

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • Berkeley Ensemble

    Friday 15 November 2013

    7:30PM

    There were six pieces played, none of which I had heard before, by six British composers, one of whom I had never heard of before, with Michael Berkeley in the audience. It was a brilliant concert and a great idea by Keith Nimmo to schedule it.

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • BRITTEN SINFONIA / MARK PADMORE

    Wednesday 25 September 2013

    7:00PM

    What a wonderful programme and performances we had. There were two pieces with Britten’s imprint, a modern classic by Pärt, a rare performance of Finzi songs with a top singer, and a total of three works by LIVING composers! Judith Weir’s piece was premiered this year and, like the Pärt, benefited from a live performance where you can see and hear the spatial complexity of the parts that make up the whole work. Both have the music subdivided into large numbers of parts which get played at different speeds or with different groups of instruments which on radio you cannot pick out but you can in a live performance at the WMC!

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5
  • ‘STONEPHACE’ STABBINS / ZOE RAHMAN

    Saturday 09 November 2013

    7:30PM

    Wonderful set with musicians who enjoyed their music as much as the audience. The solos were wonderful and you can tell that improvements have been made in the sound system, as Larry Stabbins commented himself - great sound! People don't know how lucky they are to have this centre on their doorsteps!

    View page / add review

    Average rating: 5

    • 1
    • 2
    • 3
    • 4
    • 5