Please note, due to the Auditorium closure, this concert has been moved to Holy Trinity Church in Bradford on Avon. Ticket holders are being informed.
Unfortunately, we will no longer be able to continue selling advance tickets for this concert.
For more information, please see our statement here.
For any concerns, please get in touch by emailing:


Marta Gardolinska conductor
Jesper Svedberg cello

SIBELIUS Finlandia Op 26
GRIEG Norwegian Dance No 1
SAINT-SAËNS Cello Concert No 1 in A minor Op 33
TCHAIKOVSKY Symphony No 5 in E Minor Op 64

Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra returns with award-winning polish conductor Marta Gardolinska and a programme of stunning orchestral show pieces which opens with Sibelius’ patriotic tone poem written in 1899. Swedish cellist Jesper Svedberg performs Saint-Saëns’ dramatic and touching cello concerto, before Tchaikovsky takes centre stage with the sweeping, romantic melodies and lush orchestration of his brooding fifth symphony – a melancholy work that wavers between optimism and sorrow, and reminds us that even in the darkest hour a glimmer of hope can be found.

6.30pm pre-concert talk with the artists (free)

'the BSO faithfuls have a new favourite conductor... brimming with confidence'
Anyd Martin, The Echo