Matthew Denton violin
Michelle Fleming violin
Eoin Schmidt-Martin viola
Emma Denton cello

HAYDN String Quartet in D major Op 20 No 4
VERDI String Quartet in E minor
WOLF Italian Serenade
BEETHOVEN String Quartet No 11 in F minor Op 95 “Serioso”


Founded in 1997, the internationally renowned and award-winning Anglo-Irish Carducci String Quartet have since won numerous competitions as well as a Royal Philharmonic Society Award. This expansive programme sets Beethoven’s intense and dramatic Quartet in F minor, which looks forward to his later style, against Verdi’s only surviving chamber work. Written in 1873 this piece occupies a unique position in the history of the genre and is famed for its lyrical melodies, structural coherence and rich harmonic language.