Alex Redington violin
Ying Xue violin
Hélène Clément viola
John Myerscough cello

BEETHOVEN Quartet in B flat major Op 18 No 6
BRITTEN Quartet No 3 Op 94
SCHUBERT String Quartet in G major D887

Schubert’s final Quartet in G major published posthumously in 1851 is one of the most profound and moving works in the genre and is characterised by its endless melodic stream and invention, as well as a deep sense of foreboding.

A sense of contrasts characterises Beethoven’s String Quartet Op 18 No 6, which balances stunning modulations and gripping pathos with remarkable rhythmic disruptions and extreme dynamic variation. Britten’s last completed major instrumental work was premiered in 1976 at Snape Maltings, just two weeks after the composer’s death.

Supported by Cavatina Music Trust