Alex Redington violin
Ying Xue violin
Hélène Clément viola
John Myerscough cello

HAYDN Quartet in C Op 50 No 2
MOZART Quartet No 23 in F major K590
BEETHOVEN Quartet in F major Op 59 No 1 ‘Razumovsky’

WMC Quartet in Residence return to launch our new season with a classical treat full of Viennese elegance that opens with Haydn’s scintillating Quartet Op. 50 No. 2. Written a year and a half before his death in 1790, Mozart’s Quartet K590 is his last string quartet and was dedicated to the King of Prussia. Beethoven’s three ‘Rasumovsky’ Quartets belong to his middle period and the F major Quartet Op. 59 No. 1 is the most expansive of the set and blends the majesty of the ‘Eroica’ Symphony with the serenity of his Violin Concerto.

Listen Now: Doric String Quartet