Alex Redington violin
Ying Xue violin
Hélène Clément viola
John Myerscough cello

Johannes Marmen violin
Ricky Gore violin
Bryony Gibson-Cornish viola
Steffan Morris cello

HAYDN String Quartet Op 33 No 3
MENDELSSOHN String Quartet Op 13
ENESCU Octet for Strings

Composed in 1827, Felix Mendelssohn’s passionate string quartet No 2 in A minor was written when the composer was just 18 years old but is considered to be his first mature work in the genre.George Enescu was a renowned Romanian composer who lived most of his life in Paris. WMC Young Quartet in Residence the Marmen Quartet join members of the Doric String Quartet fora performance of his epic Octet for Strings.

Regarded as a natural successor to Mendelssohn’s celebrated Octet, Enescu’s dramatic work combines the musical language of the late romantic era with sweeping melodies and rich musical textures.