Matthew Trusler violin
Thomas Carroll cello
Ashley Wass piano

RAVEL Piano Trio in A minor 
BABAJANIAN Piano Trio in F sharp minor
BEETHOVEN Piano Trio in D major, Op 70 No 1 “Ghost” 

Trio Apaches comprises three soloists and friends and is named after an innovative group of Parisian-based artists, which formed around 1900. Its members included the composer Ravel, whose innovative and highly original Piano Trio written in 1914 constantly experiments with musical idiom and unusual sound worlds. The nickname for Beethoven’s popular piano trio Op 97 comes from its dedicatee, the Archduke Rudolph who was the younger brother of the Emperor Leopold II. Arno Babajanian was an Armenian composer and pianist, and his piano trio evokes a distinctly Russian aesthetic and was regarded as a masterpiece from the time of its premiere in 1952.

6.30pm pre-concert talk with the artists (free)
Supported by Cavatina Chamber Music Trust