Krysia Osostowicz violin
Ian Belton violin
Paul Cassidy viola
Jacqueline Thomas cello
Laura Van Der Heijden cello

BACH arr CASSIDY Sonata for Solo Violin in C major
SHOSTAKOVICH String Quartet No 8
SCHUBERT String Quintet D 956

Brodsky Quartet return to WMC with cellist Laura Van Der Heijden for a performance of Schubert’ String Quintet in C which reigns supreme as one of the most searching and popular chamber music works ever written. Schubert’s ground-breaking use of two cellos (instead of the more usual two violas) results in a work that is unique in terms of both its sound world and instrumentation. The programme opens with violist Paul Cassidy’s arrangement of Bach’s seminal solo violin sonata for string quartet which contrasts with Shostakovich’s personal and searching Quartet No. 8.

Brodsky Quartet and Laura Van Der Heijden appear with the kind permission of Chandos Records

Livestream Booking Information

All you need is a computer, laptop, tablet or smart device that is connected to the internet to enjoy this stunning programme.

Listen Now: Brodsky Quartet