J S BACH Cello Suite No 1 in G major BWV 1007 (transposed for violin)
TARTINI Violin Sonata in B minor
J S BACH Partita No 2 in D minor for solo violin BWV 1004

Rachel Podger violin

The Times has described Rachel Podger as “the unsurpassed British glory of the Baroque violin”, and this delightful concert will confirm this. Here she plays two Bach pieces interspersed with the composer’s lesser known contemporary, Tartini. Bach’s Cello Suite No 1 in G major is transposed for the violin – not such a radical idea as you might think as Bach regularly re-cycled and re-purposed his own compositions for different instruments. This violin version is full of colour, vision and vibrancy and offers fascinating new insights into the familiar work.

This concert will be presented from the stage by writer and broadcaster Katy Hamilton, and will include a conversation with Rachel Podger after the concert.


Single Event Ticket - £12.50 / £14.50 (incl. programme)
Festival Pass - £50 / £52 (incl. programme)

Click 'Book Now' above and select the concert you wish to book for from the Bath Bachfest playlist, or choose a Festival Pass to enjoy all four livestream concerts.

If you need any help with your booking please email boxoffice@wiltshiremusic.org.uk or call Wiltshire Music Centre Box Office on 01225 860100 and leave a message. A member of the team will respond to your enquiry as soon as possible.

Supported by

Elizabeth Bates