Skip to main content

Booking for Autumn Winter 2024 is now live!

Trowbridge Symphony Orchestra

Sat 16 Nov 7:30pm

Sat 16 Nov 7:30pm

£20 / £5 U18s + students
(includes £2 booking fee)
Map of Wiltshire Music Centre's Location

Wiltshire Music Centre
Wiltshire Music Centre Ashley Road Bradford-on-Avon UK

01225 860 100

Find Out More

Accessible Seats

This performance contains easily accessible seats. If you are using a wheelchair or require front-row seats, please contact the Box Office on 01225 860 100 to book your seats.

Find out more about access

Trowbridge Symphony Orchestra Return

Mathew Penrose cello

BRAHMS Hungarian Dance No 5
DVOŘÁK Cello Concerto in B minor
BRAHMS Symphony No 2

DVOŘÁK’s ever popular Cello Concerto was composed in 1894 in New York on the suggestion of his friend, the cellist Hanus Wihan. It was premiered in London in 1896 and was immediately hailed as masterpiece, even the greatest cello concerto ever composed. We’re delighted that our principal cello is stepping up to be our soloist. Mathew Penrose, who has played with TSO for a decade or so, is a professor of mathematical sciences at the University of Bath, an experienced cellist and sometime composer who has previously performed concerti locally with the Argyle Strings and Bybrook Players.

The concert opens and closes with BRAHMS. It opens with the Hungarian Dance No 5, and closes with his Second Symphony. Composed in 1877, the symphony is sunny and pastoral in mood, with some of Brahms’s most beautiful melodies for the horns and cellos.

Age recommendation: 7+yrs

A Trowbridge Symphony Orchestra promotion.